Talk to us, we listen, we act

01572 720381

Meet the team


Healthwatch Manager

Tracey’s working background has been very varied, ranging from project and team management roles in large computing and telecommunications corporations, to setting up and running small internet-based businesses. She also volunteered in several roles in the community, including Parish Councillor, School Governor and fundraiser for the annual Village Show. Tracey joined Healthwatch Rutland as Office Manager in April 2016 and pretty much got involved in all activities from communication and marketing through events planning, signposting, engagement and outreach, and general office support. Much of the work of Healthwatch Rutland is undertaken by volunteers – residents of Rutland who feel passionately about making sure the county gets the best possible provision for health and social care. Together with our board and volunteers Tracey’s aim as Manager is to ensure that Rutland people’s voices are heard through the collection of data and experiences, and shared with commissioners and service providers to inform decision-making.

Professor William Pope, Interim Chair

Professor William Pope has a wealth of experience, leadership and expertise gained from senior roles within industry, the NHS and academia, including at chairman and chief executive level. He has significant experience of working with world-leading companies and organisations including BAE Systems, the BBC, BIS, BP, British Nuclear Fuels, Ford, GlaxoSmithKline, Huawei, IBM, the NHS, Shell and Unilever, and was Chief Executive Officer of the UK’s largest integrated health, safety and environmental business for 10 years.  He has been one of the UK’s leaders in managing and developing environmental technology companies over the last 35 years, and is a four times winner of the “Technology Fast 50” awards for the fastest growing companies. Amongst other appointments he was previously director & Chairman of the East of England Regional Development Agency (2006-2012) and Northamptonshire & Milton Keynes Primary Care Trusts (2006-2013), and is now Chairman of the Board at Y&H Academic Health Science Partners (2014-date), a Board member (and now Chairman) at University Campus Suffolk (2014-date), Chairman of Healthwatch Northamptonshire (2013-date) and is a Board member (now Vice Chairman) of East Midlands Pathology (2012-date). Will was educated at St. Mary’s College, the University of Plymouth - where he was awarded the honour of “Best Student” by Prince Charles (1976) - and Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine, University of London; he has a 1st class honours degree in Environmental Science (1976), and is a Chartered Environmentalist (CEnv 2004). He is a Fellow of the Institution of Environmental Sciences.

Janet Underwood, Board member

Kirsteen McVeigh, Board member

Kirsteen has been living in Rutland for the past thirteen years having moved from Coventry where she worked for the local authority in youth support, community education and early intervention teams, specialising in encouraging people to participate in decision making that affects their lives. Kirsteen continued that work in the areas of children’s, youth and family support for a number of years, working across Lincolnshire and Rutland, in local councils, schools and the charity HomeStart. Kirsteen now works for the Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland Carers Centre, providing training and support to GP surgeries across Leicester city, raising awareness of carers’ needs and how they can be supported through health and social care. Previously acting as a School Governor and a volunteer for a number of organisations, Kirsteen is looking forward to using her experience to support the ongoing development of Healthwatch Rutland’s work with the local community. There are many difficult challenges ahead with the NHS facing huge changes over the next few years and she feels it is vital that local people have the opportunity to have their say and be involved in decisions that will shape our local and national health services.  

Caroline Spark, Board member